Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com
Asher Guitars WD Music Products Amplified Parts Mod Kits DIY Nordstarnd Pickups Warmoth.com

It's literally possible to change history (the danger of unintended consequences)

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by soulgeezer, Aug 7, 2017.

1. soulgeezer

soulgeezer Poster Extraordinaire

Nov 5, 2006
    Sinatra's World
    Back in 2007, there was a lot of argument and debate about the efficacy of information found on Wikipedia (there still is, but it's less of a controversial topic today than it was then). As a librarian, I ran up against others in my profession who wanted to discuss and argue about using Wikipedia in the context of library reference. This discussion continues today, but to a far lesser degree than it existed ten years ago.

Now, back then, I was participating in these conversation and arguing that Wikipedia should not be considered a reliable source, because of the ability of anybody to edit the information there. But, others replied, "There are so many people on Wikipedia that bad information is swept away before it has a chance to do any harm or mislead anybody. The shear size of the Wikipedia userbase and the integrity of its users are its greatest strength and the exact reasons it should be considered reliable!"

Well, in the face of this, I decided to do an experiment. So, on February 26, 2007 (the date is recorded in the "Edits" page of the article I'll discuss in a minute), I changed a small bit of information in the Wikipedia article about a relatively obscure, but certainly not unknown, actress named Diana Lynn. She had been the girlfriend of Ronald Reagan's character in Bedtime for Bonzo as well as having appeared in a number of great comedies of the 1940s.